My Access Home NIC Cosmetology NIC Nail Technology NIC Esthetics NIC Barber Styling NIC Hair Design NIC Electrology NIC Permanent CosmeticsPSI National CosmetologyPSI National Nail TechnicianTX ManicuristTX CosmetologyTX EstheticianTX Class A BarberPSI National EstheticianCA BarberEspañolTiếng Việt한국어中文Русский Our Difference Us vs. By State Schools Resources Free Terminology BlogOur sister site
Buyer's guide · Updated September 2026

nicprep.com
vs the rest

A side-by-side look at the three most common exam prep options — what each offers, what it costs, and where each is strongest. The platform covers all seven NIC license families: cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology, barber styling, hair design, electrology, and permanent cosmetics. But the platform does not stop at the national NIC exams. There are separate courses for the PSI National exams — the paper California and eight other states use — and for the state-written exams of Texas, New York, Tennessee, Florida, Ohio, Illinois, Pennsylvania and Indiana. Where a state adds its own law questions to a national paper, as Virginia does, those are built in. More than thirty courses in total. Each course is built from the outline for that specific exam: topic weights follow the real blueprint, state-law material appears where the state requires it, and the timer matches the paper you are preparing to sit. You are not studying a generic beauty quiz. You are rehearsing your exam. The other two prepare you for the NIC national exam only. We built this so we obviously think it’s the best, but we’ve kept the table factual and fair — and left a competitor’s cell blank rather than guess at it.

3
Options compared
Sept '26
Updated
Factual
& fair
Our recommendation
nicprep.com
All seven NIC license families plus PSI National and the state exams of Texas, New York, Tennessee, Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Indiana and Virginia — more than thirty courses, each built from that exam’s own outline, in up to five languages — Interactive Tutor in 19 languages included, tap-to-define flashcards, offline capable, $49 for the seven NIC titles, $59 for every other course, lifetime with a 60-day pass guarantee.
Best for print learners
Mometrix
Established publisher since 2009. Mometrix University online course at $39.99 a month covers cosmetology and esthetics with flashcards and a 7-day refund; printed guides sold separately. No tutor, no offline mode, no translated editions.
Lowest entry price
Cosmetology Guru
$49 for one month, $69 for three, $74 lifetime. Four modalities, 600 questions, six simulated exams, a 100% pass & satisfaction guarantee. No tutor, no flashcards, no Spanish edition, no school pricing advertised.
Exam Coverage
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
NIC CosmetologyYesYesYes
NIC EstheticsYesYesYes
NIC Nail TechnologyYesYesNo
NIC Barber StylingYesYesNo
NIC Hair DesignYesNoNo
NIC ElectrologyYesNoNo
NIC Permanent CosmeticsYesNoNo
PSI National — Cosmetology PSI’s own National programme · ten statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
PSI National — Esthetician PSI’s own National programme · ten statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
California — Barber Board of Barbering and CosmetologyYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
PSI National — Manicurist PSI’s own National programme · ten statesYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Manicurist Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Cosmetology Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Esthetician Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Texas — Barber Texas Department of Licensing and RegulationYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
New York — Cosmetology Department of State · New York Law and Rules domainYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
New York — Esthetics Department of StateYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
New York — Nail Specialty Department of StateYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Tennessee — Master Cosmetology PSI Tennessee outline · Tennessee law blockYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Tennessee — Esthetician PSI Tennessee outlineYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Tennessee — Nail Technician PSI Tennessee outlineYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Florida — Cosmetology DBPR · Written Theory and Written Clinical papers · 20 testsYes — 20 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Ohio — Cosmetology Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board · State Regulations deckYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Ohio — Esthetics Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber BoardYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Ohio — Barber Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber Board · Rules and Regulations domainYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Ohio — Manicurist Ohio State Cosmetology and Barber BoardYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Pennsylvania — Cosmetology Pearson VUE · Pennsylvania State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Pennsylvania — Esthetician Pearson VUE · Pennsylvania State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Pennsylvania — Nail Technician Pearson VUE · Pennsylvania State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Pennsylvania — Barber Pearson VUE · State Board of Barber ExaminersYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Indiana — Cosmetology PSI Indiana outline · Indiana State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Indiana — Esthetician PSI Indiana outline · Indiana State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Indiana — Manicurist PSI Indiana outline · Indiana State PortionYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Virginia — Cosmetology NIC theory via Prov · ten Virginia law questions insideYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Virginia — Barber NIC theory via Prov · ten Virginia law questions insideYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Virginia — Nail Technician NIC theory via Prov · ten Virginia law questions insideYes — 10 testsNot advertisedNot advertised
Built to the exam’s own outlineNIC · PSI National Apr 2026 · TX TDLR/PSI · NY DOS · TN PSI Aug 2026 · FL DBPR · OH Board · PA Pearson VUE · IN PSI · VA ProvNIC-onlyNIC-only
Questions per NIC cosmetology course1,100600660+
Questions in your language Fully translated editionsSpanish, Korean, Vietnamese, Russian & Simplified Chinese — on the products that have one, same price as EnglishNot advertisedNo
Explanations in your language Interactive Tutor, English questions19 languages · included with every product · switch between them any timeNoNo
Study Features
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Practice tests (timed simulation)YesYesYes
Study mode (instant feedback)YesYesYes
Interactive TutorClaude-powered — explains any question, answers follow-upsNoNo
Tutor in your languageYes — the question stays in English, the explanation is in yoursNoNo
Flashcards (domain-stacked)Digital, filterableNo500+ in the course
Tap any word on a card for its definitionYes — every term the decks teach, and the tutor for the restNoNo
Plain-English “why” on every cardEsthetics now, the other families followingNoNo
Flashcards — learn and recall directionBoth, progress sharedNoNo
Full rationale on every questionRight + wrong explainedYesYes
Score by domain breakdownYesUnknownUnknown
Cross-device progress syncYesUnknownUnknown
Works offlineYesNoNo
Retake any testFresh shuffleUnlimited retakesUnknown
Timed to the real clock90 to 180 min — the real paper’s clock, per exam90 minUnknown
AI support assistant access, devices, reportingYesNoNo
Free preview (no signup)10 questions and 10 flashcards — every family, in the edition’s languageFree practice testLimited
Free terminology reference exam terminology, no account865 terms — searchable, filterable by exam, with a drill mode that hides the definitions and scores youNot advertisedNot advertised
Printed study guideDigital onlyNoSold separately
Pricing & Access
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Full bundle$49 NIC · $59 every other course$74 lifetime · $69 three months · $49 one month$39.99 a month
Access durationLifetimeLifetime, or by the monthMonthly subscription
Subscription requiredNoNoYes
Refund policy14-day unconditional100% money-back7-day money-back
Pass guarantee60-day“Pass or your money back”No
School/bulk licensingYes — class codesNot advertisedInstitutional licensing
For Schools & Instructors
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Bulk / class licensingYesNot advertisedInstitutional licensing
Students redeem with their own loginOwn account per seatUnknownNo
Self-serve seat purchaseInstant, onlineUnknownNo
Class codes emailed instantlyYesUnknownNo
Volume discountTiered pricing by cohort sizeUnknownNo
Minimum order5 seatsUnknown—
Courses available per seatAll 36 courses — 7 NIC, PSI National, Texas, New York, Tennessee, Florida, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Indiana, VirginiaUnknownNo
Instructor admin consoleYesUnknownNo
Free instructor seatYes — lifetimeUnknownNo
Seat deactivation on refundYesUnknownNo
For Creators & Affiliates
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Partner / affiliate programmeYesUnknownUnknown
Commission20% of every saleUnknownUnknown
Paid up front, not spread over monthsYesUnknownUnknown
Referral window60-day cookieUnknownUnknown
PayoutMonthly direct deposit over $25UnknownUnknown
Caps or quotasNoneUnknownUnknown
Self-serve dashboardYes — live earningsUnknownUnknown
Content Methodology
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Built from the official exam outlineNIC CIB 2026 · PSI National Apr 2026 · TX TDLR · NY DOS · TN PSI Aug 2026Claims "actual test bank"NIC-aligned
Domain-weighted to real examPer exam — NIC and state weightings differUnknownUnknown
Statistical validation6 construction standardsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Answer-length balancedNo length tellsNot disclosedNot disclosed
Position balanced (no B-bias)YesNot disclosedNot disclosed
Rationale explains wrong answersEach option addressedYesYes
Platform & Experience
Feature nicprep.com Cosmetology Guru Mometrix
Mobile + desktop responsiveYesYesYes
Works offline (subway, break room)YesRequires connectionRequires connection
Install as app (no App Store)YesNoNo
State licensing guidesAll 50 states + DCSelect statesNo
Years in market2026 (new)Since 2010Since 2009

Try it free — 10 questions, no signup

See the question quality, the rationales, and the Interactive Tutor for yourself.

Try the free preview →

Competitor figures were checked against each provider's own product pages on 16 September 2026. Prices there change without notice, so verify before relying on them. nicprep.com is our product — we've tried to be accurate and fair, but we're not a neutral party. Where we couldn't verify a competitor's feature, we marked it as "Unknown" rather than guessing. If you spot an error, please let us know and we'll correct it. Competitor names and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Stay exam-ready.

2026 CIB changes, domain study tips, and new-modality launches — a few emails a month, no spam.

Study in your language

The questions stay in English.
The explanations don’t have to.

The Interactive Tutor explains any question, the rationale behind it and every term you need — in Spanish, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Russian, Vietnamese, Persian (Farsi), Albanian, Arabic, Bengali, French, Haitian Creole, Hebrew, Italian, Japanese, Swahili, Turkish, Tibetan, Nepali, Ukrainian — and answers your follow-up questions the same way. The question and the answer options stay in English on purpose: those are the words you have to recognise on exam day, and the tutor teaches you to read them, not to skip them. All 19 are included with every product on your account, and you can switch between them whenever you like.

Want the questions themselves in your language? Español (Spanish) · 한국어 (Korean) · Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese) · Русский (Russian) · 简体中文 (Simplified Chinese) are also available as fully translated editions on the products that have one — the questions, the options and the rationales, all in your language, not just the explanations.

Which one do I need? Questions in Spanish, Korean, Vietnamese, Russian or Simplified Chinese → the translated edition, where your product has one. Sitting the exam in English and want it explained in your language → the English edition, and set the tutor to your language. Both come with the tutor, so this is a question about which words you want translated, not about price.

How the Interactive Tutor works, and what it does in your language →